Why Black History Month?

This is my Black History Month opinion.

“Say it LOUD! I’m Black and I’m Proud!”

I am extremely disappointed and frankly boarder line furious. As a direct descendent of the racial hatred that plagued this country for over 400 years I am shocked and appalled that particular

0789201232

individuals find it “freeing” to vocalize such disrespect.

I am shocked and appalled that particular individuals are so quick to take offense and want to do away with something that you are not willing to even research and understand.

I find it incredibly interesting that particular individuals want to catch offense when I choose to, every day of the year, celebrate who I am in color, Nationality, and race, and even more so catch attitude during a 28 day month, during which I choose to consistently focus my efforts and interests.

I find it incredibly interesting that you all can throw hissy fits on facebook about how you don’t want to talk about the harsh realities of racism in this country, but when i tell you that I walked into a bookstore in 2012 and was followed by a White woman looking at me as if I was going to steal something oh you don’t take offense to that.

You don’t take offense when I get stopped by a cop who proceeds to ask me if this is my car.

You don’t take offense when my fellow black brother in Mississippi in 2011 was brutally beaten and run over by a gang of white teenagers who were screaming, “kill that nigger!”

calm-and-confident-douglas-makes-history-gold-medal-african-american-woman-beauty-and-the-beat-blog

You don’t take offense to the fact that every day blacks are still called such terms as, “tar baby” and “nigger”.

You don’t take offense when the GOP continues to speak of how the “underprivileged black is on welfare” when MULTIPLE studies have proven that there are more WHITE people on welfare than there are Black people.

You don’t take offense when the media portrays the black man as a drug addicted, violent, uneducated, profane, vulgar, lazy, good for nothing criminal, who we hope learns a sport of some king to get out “da hood.”

You don’t take offense when the media portrays the black woman as a sex crazed, loud mouthed, disrespectful, uneducated, violent, independent, weave-wearin, fake nail-gettin, 6-inch heel wearin whore who longs only to be Dwight Howard’s baby mama.

I think we need to re-evaluate what we are taking offense to now a days.

When else will we learn that out of the ENTIRE black community within this country OVER HALF are ranked as Middle class, educated working individuals. It is an incredibly LOW percentage of individuals that actually live the life that is portrayed in the media.When else will we celebrate the thousands of Black intellectuals serving our communities as doctors, lawyers, and teachers.

The purpose of Black History Month is NOT to over emphasize the evils of “The White Man”, nor is it about over glorifying the successes of “The Black Man”. What many of you DON’T know and understand is that MUCH of the success and progression of the Black Man was due to the integration and cooperation of the White Man. But you wouldn’t know that without Black History Month, because we don’t talk about anything that has to do with Black people except DURING Black History Month. Therefore, do not come to me about not talking about Black People during Black History Month. And DEFINITELY don’t come talk to me about no Black History Month whatsoever. Because I find it ignorant and extremely selfish.

If I don’t talk about the journey and progression of my people during February when am I going to talk about them?

Their historical contribution and experience has yet to integrated in Elementary, Middle School, High School, and MERCY College History, Social Studies, World History, and Political Science courses.

Their literature has yet to be integrated!

Their contributions to music theory & praxis have yet to be integrated!

Their contributions to religion have yet to be integrated!

Their contributions to Mathematics and Science have yet to be integrated!

Their contributions to Leadership have yet to be integrated!

T heir contributions to Psychology have yet to be integrated! Their contributions to Anthropology, Sociology, Etymology, and ALL OTHER OLOGIES have yet to be integrate! S

o you wanna know why we celebrate Black History Month?

black_power

You wanna know why I raise my fist and say, “Black is Beautiful” during February?

Because until I can learn about George Washington and Angela Davis at the same time I will not be satisfied.

Until I can learn about Thomas Edison and Marcus Garrett at the same time I will not be satisfied.

Until I can learn about Ronald Reagan and Rev. Adam Clayton Powell I will not be satisfied.

Until I can read William Shakespeare and Lorraine Hansberry at the same time, I will not be satisfied.

Until I can read Henry David Thoreau and W.E.B. DuBois at the same time I will not be satisfied.

Until I can read Emily Dickinson and Maya Angelou at the Same time I will not be satisfied.

Until my Black history becomes recognized as the American history that it is I will not be satisfied to not celebrate my Black History Month.

So if you feel ostracized, offended, or ogled; uncomfortable, uneasy, or unappreciated than I greatly apologize. But I WILL celebrate and communicate my love for this Month

So to EVERYBODY! Black, White, Asian, Hispanic, Indian, Italian, and ANYBODY ELSE I HAPPENED TO FORGET, as we are one family of many cultures in Christ, Happy Black History Month! Let us remember how far the Lord has brought us all, and continue to celebrate where He will continue to bring us in the future.

“Black is Beautiful!”

“Say it LOUD! I’m Black and I’m Proud!”

Leave a Reply

